Stuttgart Ballet blog

EMAIL FROM … MILANO (FRIEDEMANN VOGEL)

Leave a comment

Friedemann Vogel, Olesia Novikova in Raymonda, photo: Brescia Amisano

Friedemann Vogel, Olesia Novikova in Raymonda, photo: Brescia Amisano

Hello to everybody from Milano,

where I am dancing Jean de Brienne in Raymonda at the moment. The production is a reconstruction of the Petipa Version from 1898, which has been revived with huge efforts and painstaking research of original notes, drawings and images. It really feels a bit like time-travelling…

I have a wonderful partner in Raymonda: Olesia Novikova from St.Petersburg. To me it has been very interesting to see the original material from the Theatre Museum in St. Petersburg and to experience how it comesback to life. With all these historical sets and costumes and inside this beautiful Theatre I sometimes felt as if I had travelled back a hundred years –beautiful!

But sometimes it is not so easy dancing in the opulent costumes: In the dress rehearsal my hat – decorated with feathers and fur – started slipping into my face during my variation in the 3rd act, and by the last jump I found myself in complete darkness! But luckily at the premiere my hat stuck like a limpet.

I am having a wonderful time here, but I am also looking forward to coming home to Stuttgart! There we will be doing another ballet classic: Swan Lake, which I will apply myself to with new inspiration and new experiences now.

Yours
Friedemann Vogel

Leave a Reply

