Stuttgart Ballet blog

EMAIL FROM … AMSTERDAM (MARIJN RADEMAKER)

Leave a comment

Hello Stuttgart!
I wanted to send you a quick Hello from my second hometown Amsterdam! Because yes, my first home is Stuttgart :) I’ve been here for a few days and started rehearsing for the Prince and the Mouse King in Het Nationale Ballet’s Nutcracker.

Marijn Rademaker in rehearsals for "The Nutcracker", photo: Het Nationale Ballet

Marijn Rademaker in rehearsals for “The Nutcracker”, photo: Het Nationale Ballet

I will be on stage as of December 27th. It is wonderful to spend time in my native country and also to be able to perform in Holland – especially The Nutcracker in Christmas time.
This is going to be my very first Nutcracker, and I am absolutely excited about it! Also because in a way this is such a “Dutch” production: The story is set in Amsterdam, children are ice-skating on the canals, and “Sinterklaas” and the “Zwarte Piet” are both part of the story, so it is a little bit of a trip down memory lane for me, also because I’ve seen that Notenkraker on stage as a child already.

Rehearsals are going very well, on Friday the children from the ballet school joined us for the first time, which was very fun! I am learning the children’s dance as well, to partner Clara. Actually that’s what I’m the most nervous about, haha! If all these children know exactly what they are doing, I’d better do so, too – they shall be an example to me…

I very much hope you all spent beautiful holidays,
and I wish you all a Happy New Year with many stunning dancing experiences!

Yours,
Marijn

Leave a Reply

