Stuttgart Ballet blog

EMAIL FROM … STUTTGART (EGON MADSEN)

Leave a comment

Egon Madsen rehearsing for "La Sylphide" in the studio, photo: Regina Brocke

Egon Madsen rehearsing for “La Sylphide” in the studio, photo: Regina Brocke

Hello, everyone!

I am sending you my very best regards from the ballet studios at the Stuttgart Ballet, where I am preparing some very special performances at the time: I will have my role debut in “La Sylphide” this week! In more than four decades on stage I have danced so many roles – with the Stuttgart Ballet, the Nederlands Dans Theater III, with Gauthier Dance, and in many theatres more – but I never would have imagined to do this old fortune teller “Madge” one day.

My new role is very special to me in many ways. I started my stage career at the Tivoli Pantomime Theatre in Copenhagen, and this role now contents a lot of Pantomime. Also it is beautiful for me as a Dane to be in such a Danish production – “La Sylphide” was danced and thereby preserved at the Royal Danish Ballet in Copenhagen for centuries, and the music is also from a Danish composer. So this engagement in “La Sylphide” is like a little home coming to me.
Apart from this emotional sense dancing the “Madge” is simply huge fun, the character is very strong, very expressive – and she wins in the end!

I am looking forward to meeting my wonderful Stuttgart audience again!

Best regards, yours,
Egon

Leave a Reply

