Stuttgart Ballet blog

EMAIL FROM … VERONA (JASON REILLY)

Leave a comment

Hi everyone,

I am spending this week in Verona , where I’ve been invited to dance the world premiere of  “The Miraculous Mandarin“ by Mario Piazza! It’s my third time to work with the ballet of the Arena di Verona, and I really like coming here –it is a small, but good ballet company, everyone is very friendly to me, and the atmosphere in the theatre and city of Verona is very special.

Yuniesca Sanchez and Jason Reilly in rehearsal, photo: Courtesy of Arena die Verona

Yuniesca Sanchez and Jason Reilly in rehearsal, photo: Courtesy of Arena die Verona

With my partner Yuniesca Sanchez (la ragazza / the girl) I’ll dance five performances in the Teatro Filarmonico di Verona from April 11th  to April 16th. Yuniesca is not only a beautiful dancer, but also a well-known TV Star here in Italy, so I’d better not drop her if I don’t want to get in trouble with the audiences…

The choreographer, Mario Piazza (he’s also Canadian!), is well known for his contemporary works and for this program he created contemporary versions of two historical ballets: “Pulcinella” and “The Miraculous Mandarin“. It is exciting to work with him, he is a very interesting artist, and works very fast: We put a huge solo for me together in one day!

Now there is time for class and rehearsals. The piece is challenging, very physical, very strong! A little time is left to stroll around the city, though, and Verona is such a beautiful place. Still I’m looking forward to coming home to Stuttgart and to spending some days at home before I pack my bags again to go on tour with the entire company – to Japan and Korea !

Take care, everyone, and Arrivederci!
Yours, Jason

Leave a Reply

