Stuttgart Ballet blog

EMAIL FROM … TOKYO (EVAN MCKIE)

Leave a comment

KONICHIWA!
I am here with the renowned Tokyo Ballet dancing one of my absolute favorite roles : Evgeni Onegin. Tokyo is one of my favorite places to dance. The city is alive with Art. The fans are receptive, knowledgeable and intense in their love for certain performers and performances. I was so thrilled to dance Cranko’s ‘Siegfried’ in Tokyo with our Stuttgart Ballet earlier this Spring so it is nice to be back so soon to dance one of our most signature roles. It makes me feel good to know that I am not on my own when I dance a ballet like this in one of the world’s metropolises.
I grew up in Stuttgart and have been immersed in our generosity of spirit since I was 15 so I am bringing not only myself and my ideas with me to Tokyo but also a very large piece of ‘Stuttgart.’

Evan McKie in Onegin, photo: Michel Lidvac

Evan McKie in Onegin,
photo: Michel Lidvac

Onegin is a role that I could never dance the same way twice. In my most recent article for American Dance Magazine (“Turning into Tatiana” in the August 2012 issue), I explored some of the different ways ballerinas from around the world approach the part of Puschkin and Cranko’s Tatiana.  This makes my life on stage so exciting: I never know where the chemistry is going to go and what it will become… especially when dancing with a ballerina I have not met before. Onegin is definitely one of the few ‘great’ dramatic roles that the ballet world has to offer and performing it with different artists from a variety of cultural and balletic backgrounds is a fascinating journey.

I hope you are all enjoying the preparation of Don Quixote at the Stuttgart Ballet and I wish you an exciting and fulfilling premiere!
Yours, Evan

Leave a Reply

