Stuttgart Ballet blog

EMAIL FROM … TORONTO (EVAN MCKIE)

Leave a comment

Evan McKie in Giselle, Copyright: Stuttgart Ballet

Evan McKie in Giselle, Copyright: Stuttgart Ballet

Hello.

Three years ago I had the pleasure of dancing the role of Albrecht in Giselle for the first time. When I first joined Stuttgart Ballet from the John Cranko School I begged Reid Anderson to one day let me learn the role. It was too soon but I was so intrigued by the eerie beauty of the ballet, particularly the romantic style of the pas de deux and the idea of “dancing to one’s death” that is required in the second act after Albrecht has betrayed Giselle. Eventually, when the time was right, I was allowed to perform the role and it has since become one of my favorites.

This month I’ve returned to the National Ballet of Canada to perform Albrecht for a North American audience. Toronto is where I was born so it is very special for me to be able to dance for my countrymen for a second time since I was here last March. However, the ballet Giselle is set in Germany and in actual fact the version I am dancing was first created by Sir Peter Wright in Stuttgart so it is hard not to think of our beautiful theatre am Schlossgarten when I take each step.

I wish you all a beautiful Christmas season and look very much forward to dancing for you again.

Yours, Evan

Leave a Reply

