Stuttgart Ballet blog

EMAIL FROM … LONDON (MARIJN RADEMAKER)

Leave a comment

Dan Gillespie Sells, Marijn Rademaker, Edward Watson, Javier de Frutos in the studio, photo: private

Dan Gillespie Sells, Marijn Rademaker, Edward Watson, Javier de Frutos in the studio, photo: private

Hi dear friends in Stuttgart!

I’m writing to you from the canteen in the Royal Opera House where I have just finished class with the Royal Ballet. I’m working here in London for the show Men in Motion that will premiere on the 30th and 31st of January in the Coliseum. The same theatre where the Stuttgart Ballet danced Romeo and Juliet years ago. I still remember dancing Romeo there :) Because of planning and studio space availability I sometimes also have to rehearse in Sadler’s Wells. The theatre where Stuttgart Ballet just danced The Taming of the Shrew and the gala program, so I also have very nice memories there!

In Men in Motion I will dance one of my favorites, Marco Goeckes Äffi, and a new duet with Royal Ballet principal dancer Edward Watson. It’s a great honor for me to dance with him, because he is one of the very great English dancers of our time. I arrived here on the 23rd of January, so we only have a week to make this Pas de deux! It’s choreographed by Javier de Frutos, a choreographer who has been in London already a long time. He makes ballets but also directs musicals here in London. He even won an Olivier Award for his Cabaret. It’s great to work with him, and even though we don’t have a lot of time, we have a lot of fun and there is a lot of laughter.

Another great addition to this piece is that Dan Gillespie Sells will join us and sing 3 songs on stage. He is the front man in the famous English pop band The Feeling. He’s a great guy and he has the most amazing voice so it’s going to be very special dancing to his singing! I find it quite special, creating something new here in London and collaborating with these three great artists. I think it’s going to be a very touching duet. I hope you can all see it one day!

All the best and (even though it’s great here) I can’t wait to get back!
Yours,
Marijn

Leave a Reply

