Stuttgart Ballet blog

EMAIL FROM … WÜRZBURG (LOUIS STIENS)

Leave a comment

Louis Stiens (Selfie)

Louis Stiens (Selfie)

My dear Stuttgart audience, dear fans, observers and friends!

I am writing to you from Würzburg, a Franconian town by the Main river, where I am creating my first work outside of the Stuttgart Ballet. I met Anna Vita, director of the ballet company at the Mainfranken Theater and a former student of the John Cranko Schule in Stuttgart. She asked me recently if I would like to create a short gala piece for three of her dancers.
After my creation „High“ for the Stuttgart Ballet I didn’t have so much time and energy, but after a visit to Würzburg I quickly agreed.
My short rock’n’roll piece is titled „Frosty Summers“ and is inspired by the snow of summer, when you are dreaming of an old/new love and then suddenly wake up. Here in Würzburg I have the pleasure to work with some audacious dancers who are just right for me and my piece.
The premiere is on July 7 and then I am looking forward to the last performances with the Stuttgart Ballet! I will be dancing in the performances of the Noverre Society and also Cranko’s Romeo and Juliet will which surely be tragically beautiful!

Maybe we’ll see each other in Würzburg! All the best wishes,

Louis

Leave a Reply

