Stuttgart Ballet blog

EMAIL FROM … DÜSSELDORF (MARCO GOECKE)

Leave a comment

Marco Goecke sends Greetings from Düsseldorf, photo: private

Marco Goecke sends Greetings from Düsseldorf, photo: private

As of Monday I am back in Düsseldorf. Yesterday, I completed my new choreography on the stage. Originally I should have created this piece in October 2012, but I got very sick and had to cancel.

At that time I was fascinated by the story of Lonesome George, a giant tortoise from the Galapagos islands which died in 2012 as the last of it’s species. Long after the premiere should have taken place, it turned out that there are more of George’s relatives. I kept the title because I liked it.

Some of the dancers here in Düsseldorf I have worked with before: Christian Blossfeld from Leipzig, and Nathalie Guth, who danced at the Stuttgart Ballet for many years. I had a lot of fun during the rehearsal, as usual.

At the moment I am on my way to Duisburg where the premiere of Lonesome George will take place on Friday. On Saturday I will travel to Gelsenkirchen where Bridget Breiner’s company will dance my Sweet Sweet Sweet. Premiere was 2005 in Stuttgart.

See you soon in Stuttgart.
Marco Goecke

Leave a Reply

